From this stop, you see the picnic pavilion. Feel free to head on over and sit down there. Engine 11 stood sentinel over the park from the 1964 until it was moved back to the depot in 1983. It was a monument to the mining and railroad industry in Tooele back them, just as it is today.
Engine 11 was built by American Locomotive in 1910 and is a 2-8-0 type engine with 21-inch-by-28-inch cylinders and 51-inch drivers. In the early twentieth century it could push six to seven loaded cars up the grade to the smelter. In its later years, the engine could still push four.
At its peak, Tooele Valley Railway had four steam engines. In 1950, the railway company began to downsize rolling stock because it no longer operated 24 hours a day. Engine 11 made its last run down Vine Street on May 20, 1963. It was the last of the common carrier steam engines to be retired in Utah.
It took a crew of at least 15 men, some trained railroad operators and some enthusiasts, to move the retired engine from the park to the depot up Vine Street. It was a rare, interesting experience requiring experienced engineers.